A Modest Begining

Structure 1

In August 2012, we visited the property for the first time. We pitched a tent in the clearing near the west end and spent a wonderful week getting a feel for the place and feeding the mosquitoes. There is no joy in this life that can match the feel of your own land under your feet, after a lifetime spent as a reluctant nomad.
One of the first necessities for our camp was to gather a quantity of stones for a fire ring. It is amazing how happy it can make you when a simple task is harder than it should be. I could not find a single rock of any size on the property. Not surprising because of the heavy undergrowth, but when I spent an entire hour scouring the road allowance, and only having three small rocks to show for my efforts, I started to giggle with delight. In the end, I had to drive down to the riverbank to obtain the rocks I needed for the fire. When we had first arrived in the area, we saw fields strewn with stones, so the near total lack of stones on our land was a pleasant surprise.
My next duty in establishing our camp was to dig a pit privy. Any wildlife spying on the scene, my poor wife and a puzzled dog were treated to the spectacle of the happy dance I performed across the meadow clutching clods of rich, dark soil. Digging down two feet, I found virtually no rocks, just good soil, sandy enough to be well drained and packed with organic content. I smuggled a couple of kilos of this soil back to Langley with me, and when I need a lift, I spread it out on the floor and run my toes through it.
The temporary camp convenience I built for this trip served its purpose, despite being knocked over in the middle of the night by passing wildlife. When we were ready to leave, I filled in the pit and removed the seat which will be up cycled to the permanent pit privy. The remaining structure was left alongside a trail that passes through the property. It amuses me to speculate about what the locals will make of my “outpost” on the future homestead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

